Overview of Nimba County

Flag of Nimba County
Flag of Nimba County
Photo Credit: MIA

Nimba is a county in the north-central portion of the West African nation of Liberia. One of 15 counties that comprise the first-level of administrative division in the nation, it has six districts. Sanniquellie serves as the capital with the area of the county measuring 11,551 square kilometres (4,460 sq mi), the largest in the nation. As of the 2008 Census, it had a population of 462,026, making it the second most populous county in Liberia.

Named after Neinbaa Tohn Mountain, the tallest mountain in the county, Nimba is bordered by Bong and Grand Bassa counties to the west, Rivercess County to the southwest, and Grand Gedeh County to the southeast. The northern and northeastern parts of Nimba borders the nation of Guinea, while the northeast lies along the border of Côte d'Ivoire. Created in 1964, the current County Superintendent, is Christiana Dagadu.

Nimba County is one of fifteen political subdivisions of Liberia. During William V.S. Tubman's administration (1944–1971), the region now called Nimba County was one of three of Liberia's Provinces - namely, Western Province, Eastern Province and Central Province. In the sixties, Tubman changed these provinces into counties. Central Province became what is known as Nimba County. Before the civil war of Liberia in (1989), it had a population of over 310,000 people. It is the second largest county in Liberia in terms of population.


The districts of Nimba County include (population):


  • Boe & Quilla District
  • Buu-Yao District
  • Doe District
  • Garr Bain District
  • Gbehlageh (Gbehlay-Geh) District
  • Gbi & Doru District
  • Gbor District
  • Kparblee District
  • Leewehpea-Mahn District
  • Meinpea-Mahn District
  • Sanniqquellie-Mahn District
  • Twan River District
  • Wee-Gbehy-Mahn District
  • Yarmein District
  • Yarpea Mahn District
  • Yarwein Mehnsonnoh District
  • Zoe-Gbao District