Overview of Lofa County

Flag of Lofa County
Flag of Lofa County
Photo Credit: MIA

Lofa is a county in the northernmost portion of the West African nation of Liberia. One of 15 counties that comprise the first-level of administrative division in the nation, it has six districts. Voinjama serves as the capital with the area of the county measuring 9,982 square kilometres (3,854 sq mi). As of the 2008 Census, it had a population of 270,114, making it the fourth most populous county in Liberia.


Lofa's County Superintendent is George Dunor. The county is bordered by Bong County to the south and Gbarpolu County to the west. The northwestern parts of Lofa border the nation of Sierra Leone and the northeastern parts border Guinea. Mount Wuteve, the highest mountain in Liberia, lies in the north-central part of the county.

The largest city and county capital is Voinjama with a population of 4,945. Foya is the second largest city (population 1,760).


Districts of Lofa County include (2008 population):


  • Foya District
  • Kolahun District
  • Salayea District
  • Vahun District
  • Voinjama District
  • Zorzor District