Overview of Margibi County

Flag of Margibi County
Flag of Margibi County
Photo Credit: MIA

Margibi is a county on the north to central coast of the West African nation of Liberia. One of 15 counties that comprise the first-level of administrative division in the nation, it has four districts. Kakata serves as the capital with the area of the county measuring 2,616 square kilometres (1,010 sq mi).[1] As of the 2008 Census, it had a population of 199,689, making it the sixth most populous county in Liberia.

Margibi's County Superintendent is John Z. Buway. The county is bordered by Montserrado County to the west, Grand Bassa County to the east, and Bong County on the north. The southern part of Margibi lies on the Atlantic Ocean.

Districts of Margibi County include (2008 population):


  • Firestone District
  • Gibi District
  • Kakata District
  • Mambah-Kaba District