Overview of Rivercess County

Flag of Rivercess County
Flag of Rivercess County
Photo Credit: MIA

Rivercess County is a county in the south-central portion of the West African nation of Liberia. One of 15 counties that comprise the first-level of administrative division in the nation, it has six districts. Cesstos City serves as the capital with the area of the county measuring 5,594 square kilometres (2,160 sq mi). As of the 2008 Census, it had a population of 71,509, making it the third least most populous county in Liberia.

Eighth largest in size, it is bordered by Grand Bassa County to the west, Nimba County on the northeast, and Sinoe County to the southeast. The southern part of Rivercess lies on the Atlantic Ocean. Created in 1984, the current County Superintendent is Wellington G. Smith.

The districts of the county include (2008 population):


  • Bearwor District
  • Central RiverCess District
  • Doedain District
  • Fen River District
  • Jo River District
  • Norwein District
  • Sam Gbalor District
  • Zartlahn District

Original districts


  • Morweh District
  • Timbo District